RSS Feed

Hitting the Barre

Posted on

I went to my first Barre method class. It was super AWESOME and really TOUGH! My legs are still shaky!

Gorgeous day to try a new fitness class!

Gorgeous day to try a new fitness class

What is Barre? Barre actually refers to  the stationary handrail primarily used in ballet classes for getting deeper stretches and other warm up exercises. Barre studios and exercises utilize the same principles in ballet exercises, along with a bit more yoga and pilates stretches to get a great cardiovascular and strength training workout.

Inside a Barre Studio

Inside a Barre Studio

When I heard that it was just doing a little bit of yoga and pilates, I thought no big deal, I do crossfit, I can definitely handle this. Boy was I WRONG!!. Crossfit is an intense workout that usually lasts for about 20 min max. This Barre class was 55 min of holding certain poses for some time; you could feel the pain in every single muscle fiber. My glutes were definitely feeling it after the workout and the next day.

small medicine ball, 3lb weights, and barre straps.

small medicine ball, 3lb weights, and barre straps.

We started the class with a 5-7 min warm up to awesome poppy music to get all loosened up. Then progressed to using some light weights to work out the triceps/biceps and shoulders. Note: 3lb weight may not seem heavy at all, but repetitive motions using 3lb weights can lead to shaky hands, and sore muscles. What I love about Barre is it’s not about getting bulky. Rather it’s about staying lean and getting toned. And it really is a tough workout. And I love that we had a great teacher: Debbie, who took the time to correct my form and tell me when I need to get deeper into the poses to really feel the burn! By the time we got to the actual barre to work on our hamstrings and quads, my legs were shaking.

Awesome first experience!

Awesome first experience!

Overall, I loved the experience, and I would love to come back and incorporate it into my daily fitness. Unfortunately, these classes are not cheap. My friend had given me a coupon, so I was able to try the class for free. I figure I’m only in town for another few weeks before I go on my overseas adventures, so I might wait until I come back to get on the Barre train. Some things to keep in mind if you do decide to try a barre class:

1. Wear long pants; preferably one’s that go past your knees. Shorts are not ideal.

2. Bring socks; especially the ones with traction so you don’t slip and slide too much.

3. If it’s your first time, definitely come early. The teachers go over key details in class and just what to expect.

4. Don’t forget to hydrate and bring your water bottles!

5. Have fun! 😀

march 8 021

Successful first day at Barre54.

For more information about Barre exercises, check out: http://purebarre.com/p-story.html

Have a great weekend! So much work to do, and so little time!

2 responses »

  1. i’ve been wanting to try one of these classes too but i can’t stomach the idea of paying $20+ for one session :/ thanks for sharing, though! and have a good trip abroad 🙂

    Reply
    • It’s definitely expensive. Check out if your local barre classes give like a beginners discount. Usually the first day will be free, and then you can get unlimited for like $100/month or something similar. It’s definitely fun. And thanks! I can’t wait.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

