RSS Feed

Silks, Sweat & Soreness

Posted on

My friend Margarita invited me to try a aerial class with her bright and early on Saturday. I’ve never done an aerial class before, but I’ve always wanted to try it. I knew going in I was going to have a hard time, because aerial focuses so much on being graceful and a lot of upper body strength. I mean you’re literally doing pull ups on these slippery silks and trying to go as high as possible without falling down. For someone already afraid of heights, this was a tough exercise. But I definitely had fun.

aerial 024

This is not as easy as it looks. My arms are so shaky. And being graceful..yeah, that’s never going to happen. Those aerial acrobats make it look so easy.

aerial 035

I did a lot of swinging in class, hence all the blurriness in the pictures. It’s so hard to stay still. A lot of it has to do with tightening your core, and focusing on staying still, and controlling your movements.

 aerial 047

I have to say, Crossfit has definitely made my shoulders look amazing; and it has definitely helped me tremendously with my upper body strength, because otherwise this aerial class would have been impossibly challenging (it still was really difficult, but at least I could actually try some of the moves).

aerial 044

My friend Margarita is a lot more better on the graceful front than I was. And our coach Sarah in the background! I love her. She’s passionate about aerial, and super encouraging. Lover her enthusiasm and kind words.

aerial 027

A decent, non swinging picture! Whohoo. My shoulders were screaming in pain. And I kind of overdid it, because right after this skill, I couldn’t hold this stance much longer and ended up rotating my shoulder all the way through. Nothing popped out, and no serious injury occurred. But this activity is something you should definitely do with a professional around.

aerial 053

Not sure why I’m wearing a sweater, it was hot and I was sweating after that crazy workout. Thanks lovely ladies for an awesome experience. And thanks Sarah at Northwest Dance for taking the time to teach us some aerial tricks on the silk. I can’t wait to try it again. But until then, I’m going to go soak in a hot bath. My shoulders are still sore, and its been 3 days.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Restaurant Review: Eola Wine Company | Cardio Thyme

  2. Just blogged about my first silks class. I LOVED it – great blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

