RSS Feed

Restaurant Review: Eola Wine Company

Posted on

march 12 020

Truth: I love to cook. I do. It might not appear that way, since I’ve yet to post any recipes or of anything I’ve made. But I love being in the kitchen and coming up with new dishes. I credit my mom for my love of being in the kitchen. When I was little, I would stand in a stool and watch her whip up dinner from all the freshest ingredients. And that hobby passed on to me. I experimented a lot, especially in college when I refused to be part of the freshman 15 club, and opted out of the meal plan and started cooking regularly. But as much fun cooking is, it’s always fun to give the cutting board and knife a rest, and get all fancied up for a dinner or lunch date. This weekend, my friend Margarita and I decided to get lunch after our aerial class. We decided to try Eola Wine Company  in Winter Park. It was a gorgeous day outside, and we opted to sit outside and catch as much Vitamin D as possible!

march 12 051

So many choices, and everything looks so delicious. It was tough making a decision. I was stuck between the veggie and roasted chicken flat bread, and getting a veggie salad wrap. I decided to go with the roasted chicken flat bread.

march 12 031

$8 mimosa sampler. Too good of a deal to pass up! 4 samples, and then you get a free full sized mimosa on the house. Yes please! The first yellow one is banana, followed by orange, and peach and finally the last red one was raspberry. I didn’t think I would like banana, but it turned out to be surprisingly really good. It beat out the orange and peach, which was really tarty, and the flavors seemed off. The raspberry was definitely the winner though.

march 12 037

 I love mimosas. This may have been the best part of the entire meal. And it’s such a great deal! Especially since just one glass of mimosa was $5. This whole thing, along with your complementary full sized mimosa of your choice was only $3 more.

march 12 038

On to the main part of the meal. I ended up getting the roasted chicken flatbread, filled with artichokes, and feta cheese. And let’s not forget that delicious avocado on top. The chicken was a bit overcooked and really tough and chewy, which was a disappointment. But I did enjoy the crust. It was flaky and crispy. The flatbread was definitely flavorful, and all the ingredients definitely meshed really well. I love the mediterrean flavors, and you could tell that’s what they were trying to go for.

march 12 045

My friend Margarita ended up creating a salad with a steak. The salad looked delicious with the extra blue cheese. She said it was really good, and that they were great with creating her salad since hers was not one of the choices on the menu.

Eola Wine Company I would give:

  • For drinks: 5/5
  • Food: 2.5/5
  • Service: 2/5
  • Overall: 3/5

It’s a great place to just grab drinks and appetizers and catch up on a Saturday afternoon. The food is decent for it’s price. But it took a long time for everything to appear, especially since there were very few customers when we were there. We waited for almost 45 minutes for our drinks to arrive, and even later for our meal. I was with great company and it was a beautiful day outside, so I didn’t mind. But I know a lot of people can get frustrated. But I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they were short staffed for a Saturday crowd.

One response »

  1. wowee! what a good price for that sampler! plus getting a full sized one afterwards in addition?! DANG.

    that chicken flatbread also sounds amazing…. I actually like all of my meat kinda tough and overcooked (I know, it’s weird)… so that sounds good to me! 🙂

    hope your week is going well!
    best,
    GC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

